Abbildung 23, In: Charles S. Peirce, Semiotische Schriften. Band 3: 1906 - 1913, Frankfurt am Main: Suhrkamp 2000

Sémiologie à venir

Symbolon and Gift: A Structuralist Déjà-vu with Ethics

Understanding aesthetics primarily in the sense of aísthēsis, as the theory of perception, my research interest focuses on the aesthetic fundamentals of modern semiotics. These fundamentals are neither to be found in what is usually deemed to be among the origins of Saussure’s linguistics, namely a history of concepts or ideas, nor in the (transcendental) foundation of Peirce’s semiotics. In accordance with Apel’s reception of Peirce, the latter is time and again considered a transformation of Kant’s Transcendental Logic and Transcendental Aesthetics in the German-speaking world. In contrast to this, my research turns to the question as to which aspects of perception are being excluded during the constitution of modern semiotics as a science, and during its process of institutionalization on the level of its sign-theoretical foundation. What I consider central is the problem of reference, which, by way of how it is being conceived as such (meaning as a semiotic problem), already becomes the shibboleth of two theories of signs––the individual semiotician announces him- or herself either as an adherent of a semiotic tradition that connects back to Charles Sanders Peirce, or as an adherent of a semiologic tradition that connects back to Ferdinand de Saussure.

Picking up on Foucault’s differentiation between the foundation of a (positive) science and the foundation of discursivity, I consult the history of modern semiotics under the aesthetical aspect of its production as a science. What comes into focus is thus, for one, the aesthetics of individual semiotic theories that transport a certain image of scientificity by way of their diagrammatical and formula-like exposition that is always oriented towards other sciences to some extent. On the other hand, it is about the recurring motive of a recourse and return to a kind of founding myth (the Paris conference from 1969) that idealizes semiotics as a merging of two sign-theoretical traditions. This merging does not only come with the »risks of annoying ambiguities« (Jakobson) of, for example, the term »symbol«. It also means, as it were, the end of semiology––semiology is then simply wrapped up in semiotics, however, since at the same time the question of reference is eliminated or marginalized, it loses connection with any sort of extralinguistic reality.

The goal of my research is to follow up the contradictory and resistant elements of modern semiotics in precisely those (post-) structuralist theories in the broader sense that were excluded with regard to the constitution of semiotics as a science. My work can thus itself be understood as aestheticizing, in so far as it doesn’t repeat the gesture of a return-to in a neutral way, but rather reminds of semiology’s claim to be a future science that »studies the life of signs within society« (Saussure). As a future science ––or rather a science to come (à venir), as one would have to say with Derrida––, semiology is to be confronted with the task of grasping aspects of perception that essentially belong to the (social) life of man.

Charles S. Pierce: Abbildung 23 © Charles S. Peirce, Semiotische Schriften. Band 3: 1906–1913 / Suhrkamp Verlag 2000.

Abbildung 23, In: Charles S. Peirce, Semiotische Schriften. Band 3: 1906 - 1913, Frankfurt am Main: Suhrkamp 2000

Sémiologie à venir

Symbolon und Gabe: ein strukturalistisches Déjà-vu mit der Ethik

Das kulturtheoretische Interesse der Arbeit gilt den ästhethischen Grundlagen der modernen Semiotik, wobei Ästhetik zunächst im Sinne der aísthēsis als Theorie der Wahrnehmung verstanden wird. Die ästhethischen Grundlagen der Semiotik werden jedoch weder in den begriffs- oder ideengeschichtlichen Ursprüngen einer Saussure’schen Linguistik gesucht, noch in der (transzendentalen) Begründung einer Peirce’schen Semiotik, die im Anschluss an Apels Peirce-Rezeption im deutschsprachigen Raum immer wieder als Transformation der Kant’schen Transzendentalen Logik und der dieser systematisch nebengeordneten Transzendentalen Ästhetik verhandelt wird. Vielmehr geht es um die Frage, welche Aspekte der Wahrnehmung bei der Konstituierung der modernen Semiotik als Wissenschaft und im Zuge ihrer fortschreitenden Institutionalisierung auf der Ebene ihrer zeichentheoretischen Fundierung ausgeschlossen werden. Als zentral wird hier das Problem der Referenz angesehen, das bereits über die Art und Weise, wie es als solches (d. h. als semiotisches Problem) erfasst wird, zum Schibboleth zweier Zeichentheorien wird, indem sich der einzelne Semiotiker entweder als Anhänger einer auf Charles Sanders Peirce zurückgehenden semiotischen Tradition oder als Anhänger einer auf Ferdinand de Saussure zurückgehenden semiologischen Tradition zu erkennen gibt.

Die Foucault’sche Unterscheidung zwischen der Begründung einer (positiven) Wissenschaft und der Begründung einer Diskursivität aufgreifend, wird die Geschichte der modernen Semiotik unter dem ästhethischen Aspekt ihrer Inszenierung als Wissenschaft befragt. So geht es zum einen um die Ästhethik einzelner semiotischer Theorien, die über ihre diagrammatische und formelhafte, an anderen Wissenschaften ausgerichtete Darstellung, ein bestimmtes Bild von Wissenschaftlichkeit transportieren. Zum anderen geht es um das wiederkehrende Motiv einer Rückkehr zu und eines Rekurses auf eine Art Gründungsmythos (die Pariser Konferenz von 1969), der die Semiotik zu einer Zusammenführung zweier zeichentheoretischen Traditionslinien verklärt. Diese Zusammenführung geht nicht nur mit der »Gefahr ärgerlicher Mehrdeutigkeit« (Jakobson) etwa des Begriffs ›Symbol‹ einher, sondern bedeutet gewissermaßen auch das Ende der Semiologie, die in der Semiotik aufgeht, dabei jedoch (aufgrund der ausgeklammerten, marginalisierten oder verdrängten Frage der Referenz) als ›bloße‹ Textsemiotik keinen Bezug zu einer außersprachlichen Wirklichkeit habe.

Ziel der Arbeit ist es, den widersprüchlichen und widerständigen Elementen der modernen Semiotik in denjenigen Theorien aus dem erweiterten Umfeld des (Post-) Strukturalismus nachzugehen, die selbst bei der Konstituierung der Semiotik als Wissenschaft ausgeschlossen wurden. Die Arbeit kann selbst als ästhetisierend verstanden werden, insofern sie nicht einfach nur die Geste einer Rückkehr-zu wiederholt, sondern an die Bestimmung der Semiologie als einer zukünftigen Wissenschaft erinnert, »welche das Leben der Zeichen im Rahmen des sozialen Lebens untersucht« (Saussure). Als zukünftige Wissenschaft oder vielmehr als
Wissenschaft im Kommen (à venir), wie man mit Derrida sagen müsste, soll die Semiologie mit der Aufgabe konfrontiert werden, Aspekte der Wahrnehmung zu erfassen, die wesentlich zum (sozialen) Leben des Menschen gehören.

Charles S. Pierce: Abbildung 23 © Charles S. Peirce, Semiotische Schriften. Band 3: 1906–1913 / Suhrkamp Verlag 2000.